Links to events relating to 18th-century music (will open new browser windows). Links to past events can be found here.

François Couperin: a 350th anniversary symposium
Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, UK
9–10 November 2018

Call For Papers

Contributions are invited for a two-day symposium marking the 350th anniversary of the birth of François Couperin. This international event, part of the inaugural celebrations of the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire’s new building, is organised by the Conservatoire’s Forum for Seventeenth- and Eighteenth-Century Music and supported by its French Music Research Hub.

Invited speakers:
Professor Davitt Moroney, University of California, Berkeley
Professor Denis Herlin, Centre national de recherche scientifique, Paris

Proposals on any aspect of Couperin’s life, work and artistic milieu are welcome, but special consideration will be given to those dealing with the following areas:

Performance practice
New source materials

Presentations may take a variety of forms, including individual papers (20 minutes + 10 minutes’ discussion), lecture-recitals (35 minutes + 10 minutes’ discussion) and panel sessions.

There are plans to publish a cluster of articles arising from this event in Early Music, subject to peer review.

Proposals should be sent by email to the programme committee (, with the subject heading “Couperin proposal”. The email should be accompanied by two .pdf attachments. The first should include name of author, title of paper, abstract (maximum 250 words), email address, institutional affiliation (where appropriate), a statement of audio-visual requirements, a concise biography (maximum 100 words) and a clear statement of the intended format (paper, lecture-recital etc.). The second should be restricted to the title and abstract.

A limited amount of funding may be available to support early career scholars accepted by the programme committee, especially those with no current institutional affiliation.

Deadline for proposals: Sunday 4 February 2018 (midnight GMT)

Programme committee:
Professor Graham Sadler (chair),
Dr Carrie Churnside, Dr Jamie Savan,
Dr Shirley Thompson, Professor Colin Timms.

Back to links page
Back to home page